2016: The Year of Focus

Generally, I do not believe in making New Year’s resolutions. This year is different. I am in a place where I need to get more control of my life and resolutions, or what I’m calling “finding my focus” seems like they make some sense. Apparently, I also feel the need to write them down and share. And so I am returning to my old forgotten friend, my blog.

2015 was an incredible, over-the-top, indulgent, wonderful, exhausting year. I started the year coming off a scary bout of appendicitis with complications keeping me in the hospital for almost a week. Determined to put 2014 in the rear view… I threw myself into 2015 with gusto. A combination of fantastic work and personal travel had me in 7 countries, 3 continents, countless states and ultimately in the air over 160K miles. I experienced a lot of new things including; the Italian Amalfi Coast, Capri..

walking on the charred earth of a volcano or breezing around Kauai in a catamaran in Hawaii…

wonderful dinners, boat rides and memories with friends and family…

the Berlin Wall..

IMG_1770

and even The Great Wall of China. Amazing.

IMG_1111

But there were some tough spots too. I helped mom pack and move from the home she’d been in for 25 years. And unexpectedly said goodbye to a dear high school teacher who had an incredible impact on me at a pivotal time in my life. It was an emotional and exhausting journey.

We celebrated the end of 2015 with a small group of very close friends and a gastronomical feat fitting of the year – the Feast of the Seven Fishes (breaking tradition and doing it on NYE vs Christmas Eve).

I think we ate for 5 hours. I ended 2015 10 pounds heavier and very, very full. In every way.

Looking forward I know, I need 2016 to be less. Less indulgent. Less hectic. More centered.

The good news? The year has a lot of promise. Arthur and I will be moving into our new home in another part of Austin. We’ll sell the home he’s lovingly and immaculately renovated over the last 5 years and even though that has been the plan, I am sad to say goodbye. But I’m excited for our future.

2016 also promises to have some heartbreak. Age isn’t being kind to our sweet, loving 15 year old cat Joey and I’m fearful we’ll have to make some difficult decisions about him this year. I know it is coming and it’s simply sad.

FullSizeRender (2)

And there is still a ton of travel in my future. Wonderful places – some where I’ve been, some that will be new. I’m excited and looking forward to what the year will bring.

But how do I bring the concept of less into a life so full? Enter “finding my focus”. Basically overall goals for daily life, so I can feel a bit more like I’m living life, rather than it eating me. If I can end each day in 2016 knowing that I accomplished, or even simply attempted, half of the below, every day… I believe – down to my bones – it will help.

How I plan to “find my focus” in 2016:

  1. Be Quieter
    1. Write more
    2. Read more books for pleasure
    3. Add more one-on-one time
    4. Take more photos
  2. Be Better to Myself
    1. Walk more
    2. Eat more plants
    3. Drink less alcohol (during the week.. let’s not get crazy or anything!)

In the end, my focus and commitment is about being quieter and better to myself. As I write this I recognize that one of my actions, to “walk more”, actually helps accomplish both goals. So, I’m off to go for a walk. And already feeling better.

Happy New Year. Bring on 2016. I’m ready.

2 thoughts on “2016: The Year of Focus

  1. Start walking and your path will become clear…. follow your heart and you can never go wrong. I love your 2016 focus and wish you many more adventures, love, joy & prosperity in the coming year!

Leave a Reply

